Reviews

9.1
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
8.9
Comfort
9.1
Property location
8.9
Facilities
8.8
Staff
9.7
Value
9.4

Reviews

    Michael Hazelman
    au

    Review score

    10
    12 April 2018

    Peaceful, friendly guesthouse

    Yas, the owner, is a lovely guy - super helpful and generous
    Xinyi
    cn

    Review score

    10
    5 April 2018
    9pm back to the hotel means I have to go back at 8pm from downtown. It’s a little bit early.
    The owner is good at English. The different hot spring tickets give you different chance to enjoy different hot springs.
    hopkop chopper
    id

    Review score

    9.6
    25 February 2018
    The room was better than expected. Moreover, Adachi-san is an ii yatsu 😁. Worth it
    hk

    Review score

    8.3
    6 February 2018
    No toilet attached. Breakfast could be better, serving size too small
    Helpful staff, nice coffee, free coupon to onsen
    Huen Yu
    hk

    Review score

    8.3
    27 January 2018

    Nice staff

    Nothing
    The price is very reasonable and the staff is very nice. Although we came there late, he wait for us and escorted us to the onsen. Very helpful. Room is specious and comfortable.
    Pakypaka
    th

    Review score

    9.2
    26 January 2018

    Feel like visiting a relative. Thanks for amazing experience.

    You have to understand that there's no bathroom at the guesthouse so if you want to take a bath, you have to go to sento (public bath). Fortunately, there's one which is 2 minutes walk from the guesthouse. There's nothing special about the guest house but it was clean and cozy. Though you have to do your own mattress but it's not hard. My first time doing it for myself too. Normally it was prepared and I just have to roll down the mattress. Yuwaku is a bit of distance from Kanazawa, around 30 km. so it gave a feeling of small cozy town so if you prepare to be in a city with a lot of shops and restaurants, Yuwaku won't impress you. We went there by car so it's convenience for us. I can't say the same thing with train since I didn't try but I can't see a station nearby as well.
    The owner is a gem! He is the one who boost experience of our stay. First we arrived quite late and were super hungry. He then recommended a restaurant nearby and walked us there to help us order our dinner. After that he took us to a foot bath and drove us to a sento (public bath). In the morning I was interested in now shoes hiking. He took us to walk around with his equipment. I realized that my group (mom, dad, 2 sisters, 2 brothers in law, and a baby) put lots of work for him but he never complains and took care of us earnestly. I felt like I'm visiting my relative. The showshoes hiking was amazing! The best part is his noodle! It was a plain noodle with soup but it was delicious! We ended up having 11 noodles in total so figure out how good they were. The owner owned many types of delicious coffee. We tried many of them and love them all.
    Felicity
    au

    Review score

    10
    22 December 2017

    Perfect guesthouse stay

    Yas is an incredible host! He took myself and another guest to the local onsens each night and for a small extra fee provided a delicious breakfast and coffee. The guesthouse is warm and inviting and the rooms have everything you need. Definitely stay here :)
    Nathan
    gb

    Review score

    9.2
    30 October 2017
    The owner was very kind and friendly. He drove us to a great hot spring and also made us a delicious Japanese breakfast.
    Misha
    au

    Review score

    8.8
    11 October 2017

    A great place for a short stay to experience the local baths and surroundings

    Our family room was rather small for four people with no space to put anything anywhere - OK for a night but would be difficult for a longer stay
    It was very nice getting out of town and visiting this small village and its fantastic baths set in beautiful surroundings, the owner was very kind and helpful showing us around
    Lukas
    jp

    Review score

    9.6
    18 August 2017

    Perfect place to discover Kanazawa and the sourrounding nature

    Yasuo is a very friendly and caring host, who organized everything to make our stay most pleasant. Yuwaku Guest House is a real authentic place, where you get in touch with local people and travellers from all over the world
    Valentina
    it

    Review score

    10
    15 August 2017
    Adachi, our host, was the best we could hope for... not only a host but a good friend now :) and the place was everything one could hope for!
    Tom Tan
    us

    Review score

    10
    30 July 2017

    A great stay

    Everything was great.
    It turned out I was the only guest that night. Everything was beyond my expectation. It was clean and quiet. Thanks for the hot spring ticket. I had a great night in Yuwaku!
    cheng ming振銘
    cn

    Review score

    9.2
    4 June 2017

    Wonderful hospitality .

    Not easy to find a good dinning place .
    The host tried everything he could to make the stay a memorable one .
    Gary
    au

    Review score

    9.2
    2 June 2017

    Unexepected onsen-retreat

    We really enjoyed our stay at this ryokan. It is located slightly outside of Kanazawa in a small hot spring village. Travel to and from the ryokan is by bus from Kanazawa station, which takes about thirty minutes and drops you 150m from the ryokan. The best things about this ryokan were the location and the host. The village is small and quiet, in a valley surrounded by woods. It has three separate bath houses/onsen. Our host drove us to one onsen on our first night, another on the second night, and we walked to a third onsen (located 30m from the ryokan) in the morning. As far as we could tell the onsen and town primarily service locals and a smaller number of Japanese hot-spring tourists. Ourselves and the others staying at our ryokan seemed to be the only foreign visitors. This made for authentic onsen experiences and I loved this aspect of our stay. The village was not touristy, it was down to earth and in the words of our host 'a secret place'. Our host was friendly and keen to facilitate our use of the onsen. He drove us to different onsen on both nights, explained some of the rules and had shampoo, towels etc available for rent at the ryokan. He also gave us a lift into town once and stopped off at a couple of lookouts on the way to show us the sites. He was a relaxed and friendly guy. The ryokan has a cosy vibe. We stayed in a traditional room which was clean and spacious. If we had stayed in Kanazawa we might have had just another city experience, staying near the station and spending time in the centre of town. I'm glad we didn't let a the bus ride put us off this ryokan, as instead we got off the beaten track and enjoyed an authentic (if unexpected) onsen retreat, while also being able to enjoy the sights of Kanazawa during the day.
    Susanne
    au

    Review score

    10
    27 May 2017

    Mi Casa Tu Casa- exceeds expectations!

    That we had to leave!!!
    Yasu the Guest House Owner was the most gracious, helpful host you could ever wish for! He helped us find places to eat and drove us to the onsen and even back to Kanazawa town showing us some local sights all the price of a night's accommodation. In the morning he cooked us a delightful breakfast of noodle soup and coffee/ tea.
    Wo
    au

    Review score

    10
    3 March 2017

    Excellent!

    The host is so friendly and make us feel like stay at home. The room is tidy and quite . Thanks Yasuo san. Wish we can visit next time when we travel there!!!
    George
    nz

    Review score

    9.2
    19 February 2017

    Delightful

    Room was a little cold- we were glad of our ski clothing (obviously just a mid winter problem). Even so highly recommend
    Owner (Yas) went out of his way to make our stay enjoyable, even driving us to an onsen. He makes a great co of coffee. Onsen village is delightful. Easy bus into centre of Kanazawa every 50 minutes.
    Frederieke
    gb

    Review score

    8.3
    13 January 2017
    Very attentive owner who will do anything to make you feel at home - trips to nice onsen, good breakfast with the best tea and coffee, tips about where to go in the area and loads more - we felt very spoiled! The guesthouse is located in a nice little town and quite close to Kanazawa.
    Simon
    fr

    Review score

    9.2
    1 November 2016
    Yuwaku guesthouse's owner is a very nice and welcoming guy. He brought me along with other guests to several onsen, and was always ready to answer my questions and chat with me. The dorm is simple and traditional : it was what I was looking for. Yuwaku is a nice little thermal village near Kanazawa and no there is a free shuttle between these two places, it is easier and cheaper to go to the guest house (but there is no information in English on the internet about the shuttle. Unless you do speak Japanese, don't hesitate to ask the owner about the timetable). Thanks again for everything, it was a wonderful stay !
    Julia
    us

    Review score

    10
    8 June 2018
    The best part about staying at the Yuwaku Guest House is Adachi-san, the guest house owner. He is not only amazing at english (and knows a little spanish too!) but is also personable, friendly, and willing to help you with anything just to ensure you have a wonderful stay. He also makes great food! I recommend having breakfast at least one time during your stay. The Yuwaku Onsen are the next greatest part about staying here. Every morning and evening, Adachi-san will escort you to a different onsen in the Yuwaku onsen area to enjoy a variety of what the region has to offer. I have never been more relaxed and happy. Thank you Adachi! I hope that if you have second thoughts this review will change your mind :)
Loading reviews